Posted by: beverlyshaffer | March 21, 2007

Watch those thoughts

I’ve noticed the devil’s favorite time to attack a mind is first thing in the morning. He’s trying to set us up for how the rest of our day will go. I struggle probably more so than others, just because he knows I tend to be a very deep person who thinks alot, probably too much. And so when I first wake up – I start thinking. I’ve noticed that if I start thinking negative thoughts, and keep going with those thoughts, before I know it, I’m feeling depressed. But if I refuse to go with those negative thoughts and instead replace them with the Word of God, praising and thanking Him for the new day, before long I’m feelin’ fine!!   Proverbs 23:7a says: For as he thinks in his heart, so is he. Here’s a quote from Abraham Lincoln: Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be./ Something to think about today. Have a good one! 

Responses

  1. Luckily I am usually too sleepy to even hear him. 🙂

  2. More often, it is the afternoon that gets me–where I am most susceptible to the whispers of evil and discouragment…and somtimes just the plain, old “grumpies”. Maybe we each have our own time of day which is most ripe for temptation.

  3. Coffee, always a good way of getting the mind to buzz with other things and drown out the sound. 🙂

  4. Amen to this! Thank you for commenting on my blog and for sharing this post.
    It’s usually late at night…2 am to 3 am…when he trys to infiltrate my thoughts. I simply pray thanks for all my blessings and smile from within. The devil will not win! Hope he likes sitting his arse on that tack!

  5. I always think of Philippians 4:8 as it gives me a guideline of things to think about:

    Philippians 4:8 – Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good report, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.

    This is one of my favorite Bible verses because it tells us that we are to think about good things. I was first introduced to this verse when I was in the second grade at summer Bible camp in central Nebraska. I went to camp with a group from my church. Carolyn and I were best friends. Carolyn was trying to memorize this verse, and I was listening to her and helping her when she got stumped. Since the verse was so long I wasn’t sure I wanted to attempt memorizing it. After listening to Carolyn say it over and over, I soon had memorized it myself, without hardly trying.

    Then a year or two later, my sister and I were in bed talking after the lights were out and she said, “Pick a verse.” So I picked Philippians 4:8. Then she said, “Pick an event that happened today.” So I picked the trick we played on Carolyn’s dad who was helping us load the U-Haul truck. Then she said, “Okay, take what Philippians 4:8 says and compare it with the trick we played on Carolyn’s dad.
    Was it true?
    Was it honorable?
    Was it right?
    Was it pure?
    Was it lovely?
    Was it of good report?”
    And I was to answer those questions and then “if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.”

    Now today … some 30 years later, I have that verse as my computer wallpaper on my work computer. It helps me remember to live in such a way that I can take the events of my day and run them through this checklist to determine if what I accomplished today was excellent and worthy of praise.

    JBS

  6. Best link for best site video and music

    header and base images
    john shuck


Leave a Reply

Categories

