Posted by: beverlyshaffer | March 30, 2007

Lost a loved one

Things have been rather sad and hectic in my household. My step-son, Craig Shaffer, died on March 22, 2007 from a heroin overdose. He was 27 years old. I wrote a poem that I would like to share with everyone. It’s called simply – Drugs.

Left us with only memories

since the day drugs took you away,

Left us with many tears

every since that dreadful day,

You tried to fight it

tried to say no,

Tried to shake ’em

but they wouldn’t let you go,

My warning to that one

who is being pressured by a friend,

Don’t do it – say no to drugs

They’ll get you in the end.

In memory of Craig Shaffer July 31, 1979/March 22, 2007

Responses

  1. I am so sorry for your loss.

  2. I am so sorry for you and your family. Whenever God places you on my heart, I will pray for you and those around you that are in a world of hurt. Again, I’m sorry.

  3. May the Lord comfort you Beverly. I am so very sorry to hear of your loss. It is so sad to watch someone we love struggle with such an addiction, only to lose the battle.

    Father hold this family close to your heart please, and dry their tears.
    You will be in my prayers.

    Susan

  4. I am so sorry for this loss.

    Thank you for sharing your life and faith with us.

  5. Beverly, I’m so very sorry. There are just no words. I wish you comfort, strength and healing in the coming days. Your poem was beautiful and heartfelt.

  6. I too have lost a loved one to a drug overdose. Last year, my cousin who was more like my brother than my cousin, overdosed on painkillers and cocaine. He was a year younger than me, and at the age of 22 had his whole life in front of him. I never did understand and always wished he would have come to me about his problem. I miss him every day. I am so very sorry for your loss… words can’t describe the pain you must feel. I can not express enough… and wish that you can find peace and solace in the family you still have. Gather strength from your loved one’s and hold on… sometimes all we need to do is breathe…

  7. Hi. I’m so sorry for your loss. I know no words will help. My step-daughter died at the age of 14 last year. I understand if you don’t want to think about this right now, since it’s so soon…. but I’m looking for other step-parents who have lost a step-child to come together and write about their experiences. I want to compile a book to help others who will face the same things we have. Please email me if you are interested. spirifild(at)hotmail(dot)com. Thank you….


Leave a Reply

Categories

