Posted by: beverlyshaffer | April 4, 2007

Stay Contented

G.C. Lichtenberg has a quote that I would like to share: Nothing contributes more to a person’s peace of mind than having no opinions at all. Why do I agree with this quote? Well, because it seems as if we’re all guilty at one time or another of feeling sorry for ourselves, thinking we don’t deserve the latest hardship we’re going through, or wondering why God is letting us suffer like we are. I’ve come to realize that it’s just life. LIFE IS HARD! For everyone. Sometimes God uses those things to build character in us. But He never gives us more than we can bear. Listen to John 16:33 (amp.)

I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have (perfect) peace and confidence. In the world you have tribulation and trials and distress and frustrations; but be of good cheer (take courage; be confident, certain, undaunted)! For I have overcome the world. (I have deprived it of power to harm you and have conquered it for you.)

So, I guess what I’ve come to learn and hope to share with everyone out there – it’s more important to keep our eyes on the Lord rather than trying to figure out our problems and why this and why that. Just trust that God is in control. Rest in Him. He’s the only One able to shoulder our burders. Have a blessed day!

Responses

  1. Greetings. This is so very accurate. To keep our eyes on Jesus and not try to figure out why this or that happens to us. As Paul wrote, I’ve learned in whatsoever state I am in, therewith to be content.” Or as the saying goes, “Let go and let God.” Thanks. Thanks also for commenting a couple of days ago. I’ve been running a lot and haven’t been able to respond as i would like. I will keep your family in prayer.
    Have a blessed weekend in Christ.

    timbob


Leave a Reply

Categories

