Posted by: beverlyshaffer | April 13, 2007

Showing Mercy

This morning while standing in line at Longs, I noticed that the man ahead of me smelled pretty bad and was in line to buy some wine. I immediately thought, he sure doesn’t need that. He needs to get his act together, not be wasting his money on wine. Then it seemed that the Spirit of God reminded me that I had no right to judge. I’m not in his shoes. I don’t know where he’s been or what’s in his heart. Instead of judging him, I needed to send up a prayer for him. I felt pretty crummy after that and did pray for the man. I chewed myself out for being such a harsh, judgmental person. But..it did get me thinking. I remembered a conversation I had a few days earlier with my daughter. She was saying that so and so is acting like a whore cause she did this and that (don’t want to get too specific here). At the time I told my daughter that she had no right to judge her because she doesn’t know what is going on her in heart. Then I went and judged the man at Longs. Thank goodness that God shows us grace and mercy all the time, even though we sure don’t deserve it. We can be so cruel! If someone doesn’t smell great, or wear nice clothes, or have every area of their life together, there we go, thinking what losers they are. This must grieve God when we do this. I looked up some scriptures on this subject and found one that pretty much sums it up: 1 Peter 4:8 (amp)

Above all things have intense and unfailing love for one another, for love covers a multitude of sins (forgives and disregards the offenses of others).

Found some great quotes too that seem to fit:

Zig Ziglar: The way you see people is the way you treat them.

Henry David Thoreau: Could a greater miracle take place than for us to look through each other’s eyes for an instant?  

Henry David Thoreau: Goodness is the only investment that never fails. 

I don’t know about you, but I’m going to be praying that God let me see others through His eyes and love them with His love. That’s what it’s all about, after all.

Responses

  1. What an insightful blog! I trust we all can learn from it and put it into practice. Hey just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Thinking Blogger Awards. Go to: http://wornoutwoman.blogspot.com/ to see my post on it and then post that award on your site, and list five others you’d award.

  2. This is a very good post. I think it’s important for us to have these kinds of reality checks every now and then because it’s so easy to fall back into the very kind of thinking that comes so naturally to us, but that we need ot move past.


Leave a Reply

Categories

