Posted by: beverlyshaffer | April 28, 2007

God wants us walking in victory

This life is difficult – no doubt about it. But what message are we Christians spreading to the world if they see us moping and whining about all our problems. Do we believe that God is enough or not? Do we believe that He is on the Throne or not? I’m not saying it’s always easy to believe God. I struggle at times just like everyone else. But I ask the Lord to give me the grace to shake off those depressing thoughts. Thoughts like, “I can’t do this.” “Where is God?” “Doesn’t He care about me?” God wants to hear us say, “I don’t understand this and I don’t know what to do, but I know the One who does, and that is enough!” The devil wants us to live lives of defeat. He wants us depressed and discouraged. He doesn’t want us believing God. I have had to cooperate with God on getting this mind of mine lined up with His word and instead of believing my emotions, believing Him. It’s not always easy, especially when circumstances stink. But isn’t it more productive to be thinking good, positive thoughts than depressing thoughts? Hard times will always be with us. So will God. He will see us through each and every difficulty. He’s looking for our faith. Faith moves the hand of God, not doubt. Faith as small as a mustard seed is all He’s looking for. This quote from Voltaire seems to fit: Life is thickly sown with thorns, and I know of no other remedy than to pass quickly through them. The longer we dwell on our misfortunes, the greater is their power to harm us.

 Let’s pray for one another my sister and brother in Christ, that He would give us the grace to believe Him to see us through the hard times in life so that we can show a hurting world that Christ is all they need. 

Responses

  1. Hi Beverly,

    I am so happy that you have written about Jesus and how we have to show His love through us.

    God bless you.
    Susan

  2. Yes, yes, YES! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  3. This is inspired, and I thank you for writing on non-complaining and having faith today. I really needed to hear it.

    Something awesome is your quote by Voltaire. He was a man who didn’t believe in God, and yet his words fit perfectly into your devotion. Only God could be so awesome as to include someone who refused to believe in Him.


Leave a Reply

Categories

