Posted by: beverlyshaffer | June 6, 2007

Life is short

Doesn’t it seem like 2007 is just zooming by? My life really does feel like what the bible describes as our lives being just a vapor, a mist. Here today, gone tomorrow. One of my cousin’s died four days ago. He was in his early 40’s. Such a shame. Makes me realize how precious life is – and how quickly it can be gone. That’s why we shouldn’t waste any of it. Don’t waste it on feeling sorry for ourselves. Don’t waste it being selfish. Don’t waste it holding onto a grudge. Don’t waste it being negative. Don’t waste it thinking ill of others. Well…you get my point. This life is a gift. Let’s use it the way God intented us to use it. To glorify Him in our daily lives. To be available for Him to reach an unsaved world. Life is way too short to use it otherwise.

Henry David Thoreau says: Goodness is the only investment that never fails.  

Responses

  1. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family in th death of your cousin.

    You’ve provided great advice about life in this post, as well.

    God bless you,
    -bill

  2. Sorry to hear about your cousin. May he rest in peace.

    I learned the same lesson about a year ago when my mother fell ill and was in the ICU for months. She had a brain injury that should’ve killed her, but for some reason HE kept her around. Which I am eternally grateful for.

    It really made me wake up to life and everything that was swirling around me. It forced me to grow up quick. I now value every moment I spend with her, and others for that matter. I view life differently now. I’m a much better person because of her getting sick. I enjoy life more now than ever before.

    Thank you for your comments above. I’m glad that others can see the light like I can. Good luck and God Bless!

  3. Hi Beverly,

    I clicked over to your site from Shirley Buxton’s devotional blog. Your right about life being precious and short. It seems the older I get, the quicker time goes by. It’s my desire too, to make my life count for Him, because when it’s all said and done, only what’s done for Christ will last.

    Have a blessed day,

    Carol

  4. http://aberdeenymn.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=59397


Leave a Reply

Categories

