Posted by: beverlyshaffer | August 20, 2007

The importance of being content

I wonder what we’re really saying to God when we complain about our circumstances and situations. Instead of entrusting it all over to Him, we ask Him why, when, and what for. We’re showing true faith when we are able to say to Him, I don’t really like this situation and it hurts, but…I know that You have my best in mind and I’m trusting You to work it all out and I’m not going to worry about it anymore. Paul said that he learned how to be content. He knew that God was in control. He trusted God because He knew that He is a sovereign God. I think it’s when we’re wondering if God really cares, if He really sees our situations, that we begin to doubt and worry and fret. Listen to what Paul says in Philippians 4:11 (amp.) Not that I am implying that I was in any personal want, for I have learned how to be content (satisfied to the point where I am not disturbed or disquieted) in whatever state I am. Check out Hebrews 13:5 in the amplified version: Let your character or moral disposition be free from love of money (including greed, avarice, lust, and craving for earthly possessions) and be satisfied with your present (circumstances and with what you have); for He (God) Himself has said, I will not in any way fail you nor give you up nor leave you without support. (I will) not, (I will) not, (I will) not in any degree leave you helpless nor forsake nor let (you) down (relax My hold on you)! (Assuredly not!)  Wow, wow, and double wow!! That’s a strong promise that we can camp on. I think we can really learn contentment when we give up seeking it our own way and just TRUST IN HIM!    

Responses

  1. “Just” trust in Him! Sure, make it sound easy!

    Yes, we need to throw ourselves on His mercy and ask Him to help us trust and to peel the discontented shells off our hardened hearts.

    I’ve been reading with mixed appreciation and frustration Jeremiah Burroughs’s The Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment. He’s very good at inciting conviction, but seems not to realize that faith must precede conviction. And he makes much of works of the heart–and I mean works!

    All we can really do to stop coveting the bribes of sin is to flee to Christ. Of ourselves, we can boast only inability. And I’m so glad, Beverly, because any ability I would bring would be a serious mess!

  2. I just came back from a Women’s retreat with the theme of contentment. I learned a lot that’s for sure. I think the only thing we need to balance with that is that there are seasons to morn. God understands, just like we do our children, when our hearts are sad. I think we need to let go and trust God but also grieve, be honest with ourselves, and be sad sometimes in the process.


Leave a Reply

Categories

