Posted by: beverlyshaffer | September 21, 2007

Be well-balanced

I was sitting here thinking how important it is to be well-balanced in every area of our lives. In fact, in the amplified version of the bible in I Peter 5:8, it says: Be well balanced (temperate, sober of mind), be vigilant and cautious at all times; for that enemy of yours, the devil, roams around like a lion roaring (in fierce hunger), seeking someone to seize upon and devour. Hmmm, interesting. So does that mean if I eat too much, he might get a foothold in my life? If I sleep too much? Have too much leisure time? Spend too much time on the computer? You get my point. And since I think I’m bordering on too much time on the computer…till next time.  

Responses

  1. Sleep? Leisure Time? …..what’s that?!! haha 😉

    Have a great week in the Lord,

    Julie

  2. Easy to become obssessed with just about anything, isn’t it? Have you seen the post about “satan’s meeting”? Can’t remember exactly, but I think that’s what I titled it. Anyway, it’s an e-mail ditty about what you’re talking about here, Beverly, and how he tries to keep us too busy for God. I can honestly say, I am much happier staying in His Word and under His protection, even if it does cause us to recognize more easily the evil jumping out of the most ‘unthought of’ arenas…
    God Keep You and Yours.


Leave a Reply

Categories

