Posted by: beverlyshaffer | January 28, 2008

Serenity Prayer

I’m noticing it in myself. I’m noticing it in others. That spirit of discontent. Complaining. Seeing the bad rather than the good. Boy, have I had to repent (over and over and over again!) How many of us are really happy right where God has us? Do we really believe He can change our circumstances? Well then, why doesn’t He? Maybe he wants us to be contented right where we’re at. He’s sure made that clear to me lately. I found the Serenity Prayer online and I’ve been praying this to the Lord about a trillion times a day:

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can, and wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time, enjoying one moment at a time, accepting hardships as the pathway to peace.

Taking, as He did, this sinful world as it is, not as I would have it; trusting that He will make all things right if I surrender to His will; that I may be reasonably happy in this life and supremely happy with Him forever in the next.   Amen. 

Responses

  1. Just stopping by to give you a big hug!

    Johnnie

  2. Greetings. It seems as though we all wrestle with desiring to arrive at a place and not being content in whatsoever state we’re in. May we all arrive at such a place where we take one day at a time and rejoice in the Lord always.

    Have a blessed morning in Jesus.

    timbob


Leave a Reply

Categories

